Ping Pong, CocoRosie, Poetry Project & Hyacinth

CosoRosie

Sumthings.

1) Ping Pong East Coast reading was super fun. Thanks so much to Christine Hamm and Maria Teutsch for including me. Here are some pictures from the reading taken by Dan Chan and I think they are quite artistic. It was a fun night with great readers and performers:  Cynthia Cruz, Phyllis Wat, Sara Goodman, Joanna Fuhrman, Whitney Porter, Thaddeus Rutkowski, and Mark Lamoureux, Maria Garcia Teutsch and Christine Hamm – As well as comedian Kathy Smith and burlesque dancer Leta LeNoir.

2) Poetry Project New Year’s Day -  I am looking forward to performing in a collaborative piece with poet and general sharp-wit Joanna Penn Cooper and avant-garde music trio Secret Orchestra at this year’s New Year’s Day Marathon Benefit Reading at the Poetry Project at St. Mark’s Church.

3) My chapbook [Mary]: is being published in 2012 by Hyacinth Girl Press. I’m happy to be a part of this compelling micro press and am honored to be along side their talented authors. (Many thanks to Margaret Bashaar and her supercool press) and (Ilya Kaminsky who recommended I write more Mary/love poems.)

[Mary]: is based on Thomas Edison’s first wife Mary (and is a section in my manuscript The Inventor’s Last Breath).   I wrote her during my first 3 years of marriage– I think I was probably looking for models or a philosophy that made sense to me and having a hard time finding one. [Mary]: is an exploration of marriage as an experiment (often sexual), and linguistically– she is excessively lyrical and has a habit of overusing the word “husband”– but also, she is somewhat based on a very haunting and mesmerizing song I was listening to at the time – “By Your Side” by CocoRosie. And I was listening to the also-vulnerable– Sharon Van Etten, and reading the love poems of Ilya Kaminsky, which pull off a purity which almost defy irony with their celebration of the moment (even in argument). Also – “Home” by Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros. There was a new kind of earnestness and vulnerability I was experiencing and that marriage was bringing out in me that I wanted to explore in [Mary]:.

4) Here’s a link to some audio of me reading my poems “Ted & Sylvia” and “The Inventor’s Last Breath”. I have no idea how it got here, but seems like a worthy project.  So many great poets on here, like Joe Hall, whose Pigafetta is My Wife is one of my favorite recent books of poetry.

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
The Esquire Theme.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

